Kapofi, Shifeta join four-horse vice presidential race

Defense minister Frans Kapofi and Pohamba Shifeta have won the race to challenge deputy prime minister Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah and prime minister Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila to be Swapo’s next presidential candidate.

The two merged the top two candidates with Kapofi scoring 46 votes, Shifeta (57), Jerry Ekandjo (37) and energy minister Tom Alweendo (18).

Kuugongelwa-Amadhila and Nandi-Ndaitwah had earlier qualified to be candidates for contesting the position of party vice president.

The four vice president candidates will now start campaigning for election at the Swapo congress in November this year.

The Namibian understands that today’s proceedings include legal threats for allowing candidates who allegedly do not qualify to compete for top positions.

The battle for the secretary general’s position will be between incumbent Sophia Shaningwa and Oshikoto regional coordinator Armas Amukwiyu.

Former deputy environment minister Uahekua Herunga will compete for the deputy secretary general’s position with Lucia Witbooi, Evelyn Nawases-Tayele and Kavango West regional coordinator Hamutenya David.

In the race for the right to contest the position, Herunga scored 63 votes, David (47), Witbooi (54), Nawases-Tayele (54).

Former youth league leader Elijah Ngurare got 40 votes while businesswoman Martha Namunjembo-Tilahun got 48 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button