Anna Podojil Named to MAC Hermann Watch List

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas forward Anna Podojil was named to the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List, announced by the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) on Thursday. The award is given to the United Soccer Coaches Division I National Players of the Year on both the men’s and women’s sides.

Podojil joins the list for the third straight year and finished as a semifinalist in 2020. She led the Razorbacks with 16 goals last season and helped her squad to their first NCAA Elite Eight appearance and their third consecutive SEC regular season title.

In 2020, Podojil was named Arkansas’ first First Team United Soccer Coaches All-American in program history and has earned First Team All-SEC honors in each season of her collegiate career. She was awarded SEC Forward of the Year in 2020 after she led the conference in assists.

Podojil’s other 2022 preseason nods include a spot on TopDrawerSoccer’s Preseason Best XI First Team, No. 2 on United Soccer Coaches Preseason Top 100 players list, USC’s Forwards to Watch list, and the SEC Preseason Watch List.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is awarded based on the votes of Division I coaches. Semifinalists will be announced on Dec. 7, with the winner revealed on Jan. 6, 2023, in St. Louis, Missouri.

No. 8 Arkansas opens the 2022 season Thursday at 7 pm CT at Saint Louis. The match will be streamed live on ESPN Plus.

For more information on Arkansas Soccer, follow @RazorbackSoccer on Twitter.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button